CHOPPED CHARRED VEGETABLES AND MÂCHE SALAD

APP, ENTREE, SIDE DISH, DESSERT?
Entree
RELATED DISHES
FEEDS HOW MANY?
2
TIME COMMITMENT?
45 mins (+15 min with protein)
FAST, WEEKNIGHT, WEEKEND?
Weeknight
STAIRMETER?
Really simple ingredient list, feel free to swap out veggies with whatever you have on deck
EQUIPMENT NEEDED?
WHO I MADE IT FOR?
I made this for Lindsay and myself on a whim. I read this recipe on Food52 and was very intrigued by the idea of chopping grilled vegetables. Unfortunately, I don’t have a grill, so broiler it is! I didn’t want to make a vinaigrette like that recipe directs; instead, I wanted to make a mash of chopped vegetables that I could imagine eating on their own. I picked out vegetables in Whole Foods that I was craving–broccoli, zucchini, and asparagus–broiled, chopped and then added them to my new favorite greens (mâche), finishing up by tossing the salad with pine nut-infused olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I had some skirt steak that I had to use so I threw that on top. It was so spectacular that I made it the next two nights again. This time adding a mustard sauce braised chicken thigh on top in lieu of the steak. This is my new favorite salad. It works in every season, feels healthy and comes together really quickly. It can easily be scaled up for a crowd.

INGREDIENTS
Mâche (1 box)
Broccoli (1 head, cut into florets)
Zucchini (1, cut in half and then cut into 1/2 inch semi circles)
Asparagus (1/2 bunch, cut into 2 inch pieces)
Olive oil (4 tablespoons)
Pine nuts (1/2 cup)
Balsamic vinegar (1 tablespoon)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Toss vegetables with 2 tablespoons olive oil and salt. Spread on baking sheet and cook under broiler on high for 40 minutes, flipping vegetables over half way. Vegetables should be crispy and browned (I even let some of mine burn a little for a smokier flavor).
  2. Meanwhile, heat up remaining olive oil and add pine nuts. Cook until pine nuts are browned and remove from heat.
  3. Once vegetables are ready, take out of oven and chop them into small pieces.
  4. Toss mâche with pine nut-infused olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Add chopped vegetables and mix well.

BOTTOM LINE: This is my new favorite salad. It’s a meal I can make three nights in a row without getting sick of it. Just make it.

Leave a Reply

