OTTOLENGHI CUCUMBER MÂCHE SALAD

APP, ENTREE, SIDE DISH, DESSERT?
App, Entree, Side Dish–very ammenable to adaptation
RELATED DISHES
Pork Katsu
FEEDS HOW MANY?
4
TIME COMMITMENT?
<30 mins
FAST, WEEKNIGHT, WEEKEND?
Fast
STAIRMETER?
Two main ingredients for the salad, you should have most of the dressing ingredients in your pantry/fridge
EQUIPMENT NEEDED?
WHO I MADE IT FOR?
Based on this recipe from the NYT, I first made this over Memorial Day weekend for a cookout. Since then, I’ve used it as the base for a couple of dinners. A few times, I’ve put pork katsu on top. Another night, I tossed the salad with French lentils. Be creative! I don’t add the mint because I don’t like mint.

INGREDIENTS
Lemon juice (from one lemon)
Garlic (3 cloves, peeled and crushed–I LOVE garlic)
Ginger (~2 inches, peeled and grated)
Yogurt (I use coconut milk yogurt because I’m dairy free, 4 tablespoons)
Baby cucumbers (5, sliced in half lengthwise, then cut into quarters on the diagonal)
Mâche leaves (from 1 package, ~3 cups not packed)
Cilantro (1/3 cup, chopped)
Olive oil (to drizzle on top)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Combine lemon juice, garlic, ginger and yogurt. Salt to taste. Set aside.
  2. Combine cucumbers, mâche and cilantro. Toss with dressing. Drizzle olive oil. Serve immediately.

BOTTOM LINE: Best base for a weeknight salad or easy side for a dinner party. Interesting and tangy but not overpowering. 

Leave a Reply

