WHOLE30 BUFFALO CHICKEN WINGS

APP, ENTREE, SIDE DISH, DESSERT?
Entree
RELATED DISHES
Buffalo chicken tenders
FEEDS HOW MANY?
6
TIME COMMITMENT?
1 hour
FAST, WEEKNIGHT, WEEKEND?
Weeknight
STAIRMETER?
I had a lot of this in my pantry
EQUIPMENT NEEDED?
Baking sheet with wire racks
WHO I MADE IT FOR?
Kelsey requested these chicken wings for the Alabama-Clemson game. I made them for a bunch of his guy friends. When I was talking about Whole30, someone said, “but I just watched you eat these breaded chicken wings?” and I got to say “A-HA! Everyone just ate coconut flour breaded chicken wings!” I used the cooking method from here.

These are similar to the breaded chicken tenders, but I liked them better and wanted to remember how I cooked the wings.

INGREDIENTS
Coconut flour (1.5 cups)
Breading spices (~2 tablespoons, to taste, I used garlic salt, paprika, cayenne pepper but feel free to mix it up)
50 chicken wings
Hot sauce (1 cup, I used a mix of Frank’s original and Cholula)
Ghee (1/2 cup)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 400 °F.
  2. Combine coconut flour and spices of choice in ziploc bag. I separated mine into two gallon ziploc bags. Add chicken wings to bag(s) and shake until coated.
  3. On baking sheet with wire rack, line chicken wings allowing enough space between wings.
  4. Bake the wings for 25 mins. Take out, flip, and bake for another 25 mins.
  5. Meanwhile, make the sauce by combining the hot sauces and ghee. Whisk aggressively until combined.
  6. Once wings have cooked for 50 mins, take out and carefully dip them in the buffalo sauce and return to wire rack. Cook for an additional 7 mins. Serve with extra buffalo sauce on the side or feel free to toss in the sauce again if you like really saucy wings.

BOTTOM LINE: Great game day snack! Also great for crowds.

Leave a Reply

