WEEKNIGHT PORCHETTA

APP, ENTREE, SIDE DISH, DESSERT?
Entree
RELATED DISHES
FEEDS HOW MANY?
4
TIME COMMITMENT?
1 hour
FAST, WEEKNIGHT, WEEKEND?
Fast (for an entree), Weeknight
STAIRMETER?
I would recommended using whatever you have on hand for the paste
EQUIPMENT NEEDED?
Meat thermometer
WHO I MADE IT FOR?
Based on this recipe. I made this for Kelsey and Brandon. We had a very limited amount of time to work with (I can’t remember where we were going, but we had to be somewhere quickly?) so I was drawn to the “Weeknight”in the title. I think my paste was a little too salty (my fault, I added too much), which wasn’t helped by the sodium lent by the bacon. I also used celery seed instead of fennel seed just because I had it around. It was a nice easy option though. I think that this recipe forms a good base and you could play around with the paste ingredients depending on your mood.

INGREDIENTS
Pork tenderloin (1.5 lbs)
Garlic (2 heads halved crosswise, 4 cloves minced)
Salt (1 teaspoon)
Celery seed (1 tablespoon, again this can be subbed out)
Rosemary (1 tablespoon, can also be subbed out)
Bacon (~4 slices to wrap around tenderloin)
Olive oil (2 tablespoons)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 425° F.
  2. Mix minced garlic, salt (careful–you’ll get salt from the bacon as well), 1 tablespoon olive oil, celery seed and rosemary (play around with spices and herbs). Rub paste over pork tenderloin. If possible, put back in the fridge and allow tenderloin to marinate for up to 8 hours.
  3. Wrap bacon slices around pasted tenderloin and place in a baking dish. Add garlic head halves and drizzle with remaining olive oil.
  4. Bake tenderloin for about 40 mins, until bacon is crispy and the inside of tenderloin registers 145° F.
  5. Transfer to cutting board and allow to sit, tented with aluminum foil, for about 10 mins. Cut into slices and serve immediately.

BOTTOM LINE: This wasn’t my favorite dish, but it was ready very quickly. I think I would change some of the paste ingredients next time and cater it to whatever I felt like eating.

Leave a Reply

