OTTOLENGHI LENTILS WITH CUMIN AND TAHINI

APP, ENTREE, SIDE DISH, DESSERT?
Side dish
RELATED DISHES
Better Than Fried Chicken
FEEDS HOW MANY?
2 hungry people
TIME COMMITMENT?
45 min
FAST, WEEKNIGHT, WEEKEND?
Weeknight
STAIRMETER?
Tahini will be the investment ingredient; I always have the other ingredients in my kitchen
EQUIPMENT NEEDED?
Potato masher
WHO I MADE IT FOR?
Me me me! I went to Nopi in London and fell in love with these lentils. This recipe isn’t the exact same but it’s very similar. I modified it slightly–changed proportions slightly, less tahini because I think it can be overpowering, more cumin because I LOVE it, added cilantro for garnish, used cherry tomatoes (skin on–it’s easier and it’s what I had in my fridge), forgot to add the coriander,

INGREDIENTS
Lentils (1 cup, cooked)
Butter (2 tablespoons)
Olive oil (1 tablespoons)
Garlic (3 cloves, crushed)
Cumin (1 tablespoon)
Cherry tomatoes (1/2 cup, diced)
Tahini (2 tablespoons)
Lemon juice (from 1 lemon)
Red onion (1 tablespoon, diced)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Add butter and olive oil to skillet over medium heat. When melted, add garlic and cumin. Cook until fragrant about 1 min.
  2. Add tomatoes and lentils. Stir and cook over low-medium heat for about 5 mins.
  3. Add tahini and lemon juice.
  4. Take potato masher and mash some of the lentils until about half of the lentils are mashed.
  5. Garnish with cilantro and red onion. Serve immediately.

BOTTOM LINE: I could never go Paleo and give up legumes. Perfect for a crowd.

Leave a Reply

