STEAK WITH SHALLOT THYME BUTTER

APP, ENTREE, SIDE DISH, DESSERT?
Entree
RELATED DISHES
Roasted Radishes, BW Standard Salad, Sauteed Bok Choy
FEEDS HOW MANY?
2-3
TIME COMMITMENT?
20 mins
FAST, WEEKNIGHT, WEEKEND?
Fast, weeknight
STAIRMETER?
Simple ingredient list
EQUIPMENT NEEDED?
Heavy skillet
WHO I MADE IT FOR?
I always get the NYT Cooking recipe emails and sort of just glaze over them. This one somehow caught my eye and I am SO happy it did. I made this for Kelsey and me tonight and it was SO good. My new favorite steak recipe. I texted so many people to make this dish. Also, unlike most recipes where I take liberties and change stuff around, I basically did exactly what they called for (amped up the thyme and shallot) and it was PERFECT.

INGREDIENTS
Steak (Whole Foods had a sale on steak tips but I would make this with any steak really, 1.5 lbs)
Butter (6 tablespoons)
Thyme (1 tablespoon, minced)
Shallot (2, diced)
Lemon juice (~2 teaspoons, I used the juice from half of a lemon)
Canola oil
Salt

DIRECTIONS

  1. Prepare the butter: combine butter, thyme, lemon juice and shallot. Using fork mix well.
  2. Heavily salt steak.
  3. Place heavy skillet over high heat (no oil) for a few minutes. Add oil and when it’s smoking, add steak and let cook undisturbed for 4 minutes. Flip and cook for another 4 mins undisturbed.
  4. Remove from heat and add a dollop of butter. Cover and let sit for 5 mins.
  5. Serve with another dollop of butter.

BOTTOM LINE: The perfect crispy sear for the steak with a simple but amazing topping.

Leave a Reply

