BW STANDARD SALAD

APP, ENTREE, SIDE DISH, DESSERT?
Appetizer, entree
RELATED DISHES
FEEDS HOW MANY?
4
TIME COMMITMENT?
30 mins
FAST, WEEKNIGHT, WEEKEND?
Fast
STAIRMETER?
Most of these ingredients should be laying around
EQUIPMENT NEEDED?
WHO I MADE IT FOR?
This is one of the few dishes I would consider a standard. It’s a salad that made me love salad. It comes from a blend of a lot of different experiences. For example, I used to use just olive oil but then I went to Sewickley once and Rachel was steeping olive oil in pine nuts and now I can’t imagine not doing that. It goes with a lot of different dishes and cuisines and is quickly prepared if you need a salad in a pinch. The ingredients I list are the ones that I pretty much always and exclusively use but if I have something laying around that I want to get rid of, I’ll usually throw it in.

INGREDIENTS

Olive oil
Pine nuts
Avocado (make sure it’s ripe, cut into very small pieces)
Cherry tomatoes (sliced in half)
Mixed greens
Balsamic vinegar

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat olive oil in skillet on low heat. Add pine nuts and cook until starting to brown above 4 mins. Remove from heat and let cool.
  2. Combine mixed greens, cherry tomatoes, avocado in bowl.
  3. Pour olive oil and pine nuts over salad.
  4. Add a little bit of balsamic vinegar. Mix well.

BOTTOM LINE: it’s a salad even salad haters will like.

Leave a Reply

