THAI CURRY CHICKEN FRIED RICE

APP, ENTREE, SIDE DISH, DESSERT?
Entree
RELATED DISHES
FEEDS HOW MANY?
4; can be scaled up for a crowd depending on how big your wok is
TIME COMMITMENT?
1 hour
FAST, WEEKNIGHT, WEEKEND?
Weeknight
STAIRMETER?
Easy–a lot of this stuff is in my kitchen on a regular day
EQUIPMENT NEEDED?
Wok!
WHO I MADE IT FOR?
I have made this for SO many people. I can make this in my sleep. It was one of the first recipes from Cook’s Illustrated that I felt like became mine. Whit and I used to make this all of the time and then our apartment would smell like curry for a week.

Adapted from Cook’s Illustrated

INGREDIENTS
Eggs (I use way more eggs, usually around 4-5)
Chicken (Cook’s calls for breast, but I’m more of a thigh girl, cut into 1 inch pieces)
Cilantro (I use way more cilantro than they call for, usually around a cup)
Scallions (5-6, sliced)
Onion (sliced in skinny rings)
Curry powder
Leftover Rice (6 cups, I’ve actually used a lot of different types of rice but basmati is my fave)
Jalapenos (I use 5, I think the recipe calls for 3)
Garlic (around 3-5 cloves minced)
High heat oil (like canola, grapeseed)
Soy sauce
Fish sauce
Brown sugar

DIRECTIONS

  1. Combine 3 tablespoons fish sauce, 1 tablespoon soy sauce, and 1 tablespoon brown sugar. Mix and let sit until you need it.
  2. Heat oil in wok over high heat, add tablespoon of curry powder and then add chicken working in batches if you have to. Don’t crowd the chicken, it’s gross. Remove and reserve chicken.
  3. Heat a little more oil and add eggs, scramble. Well, it’s not exactly a scramble. It’s a mixture of an omelet and a scramble. Fill the wok, let the egg sit, then break it up. You want thin fragments, not chunks of egg. Remove and reserve with chicken.
  4. Add oil to wok over high heat, then add 2 tablespoons curry powder. Add onions when curry powder is shimmering. Cook until translucent, above 8 mins.
  5. Add jalapenos and garlic and cook for about 3 mins.
  6. Add cooked rice and mix well with onion, jalapeno mix. Then add the sauce and mix until all rice is coated.
  7. Add cilantro, scallions, reserved chicken and reserved egg. Mix well. Tada!

BOTTOM LINE: Easy enough for a crowd and heat can be easily adjusted. Be prepared to smell.

Leave a Reply

